Shrimp Kådu

Keeping keto, you kind of eat the same things repeatedly. This makes it easy, but sometimes you just want comfort food. So when you realize you can still eat those comfort foods, it’s pretty amazing! As I am Chamorro, I just really wanted a good kådu (soup/stew). Here’s my version of shrimp kådu!

I don’t measure so bare with me. Although, I’m sure yours will turn out delicious!

You’ll need: (*notes below)
1 ~13oz can coconut milk
~ 1lb of shrimp (uncooked, peeled and deveined)
1 onion
1 bell pepper
salt, black pepper, and garlic to taste
1 tbs Olive oil or butter

(For a more traditional dish, add 1 can (drained) stewed tomatoes. Fresh green beans are also a favorite.)

Simple cooking!:

1. Sauté shrimp (& garlic) on medium heat until they are just turning pink. I use about 1 tbs of olive oil. Salt lightly so the shrimp start to sweat! I do this in a large soup pot or large frying pan. Honestly, I don’t think it makes a difference.

2. Slice onion and bell pepper
(I slice them thin, but you’re eating it so slice to preference 🙂 ).
By the time you are done slicing, the shrimp should have started to turn pink. Toss the onion and bell pepper in the pot! Add a little more salt so they sweat a little, too. Black pepper is also good here. Give the goodies a stir.

3. While all those flavors are blending together, shake your can of coconut milk. I forget sometimes and when you open the can the sides can be a little pastey. Shake shake & give the ingredients in your pot a stir.

4. Turn heat to low. Slowly stir in the coconut milk. Let simmer stirring occasionally.

5. “But how long do I let it simmer?!” …um, 10-20min? I taste it until I’m satisfied that the coconut milk as been infused with the juices of the shrimp and veggies. Keeping the heat on low helps to avoid overcooking the shrimp.

If you want the drained stewed tomatoes and green beans, add them at step 3.
Traditionally this is also served over white rice, but hey we’re trying to keep keto over here!

Enjoy!

PHOTO ON INSTAGRAM! Follow me @anotherhungrysoul

*notes*
– Coconut milk can be found in the asian section of your store. Or find your local asian market and buy everything there! It’s probably cheaper anyway 😉 I prefer Choakoh, have recently used and enjoyed SunLee Brand, but I’m sure any brand will do.
– For simplicity, I prefer the type of shrimp mentioned above. If you’re down with whole shrimp, head and all, go for it! You’ll get more flavor for sure. If you’re really in a rush and prefer pre-cooked shrimp, sauté the veggies first, add the shrimp, then coconut milk. Over cooked shrimp is not fun.
– Onion, white or yellow is the go to.
– Bell pepper, I like green or red.
– The pic included also has spinach 🙂

Leave a Reply

